Travis Bean Guitars - Unofficial Guitar Resource - Header




» Home
» About
» Blog
» Donate
» Database
» Market
» Classifieds
» FAQ
» History
» Photo Gallery
» Repair
» Join
» Contact
» MySpace



» Join
» Login



» General Discussion
» Beans For Sale
» Mods/Repairs
» Website Discussion
» Forum Rules



»  RE:EGC on Jay Leno last night
    by Vincent Gallo
»  RE:TB1000S #1487 on eBay
    by charlie
»  RE:TB1000S #1487 on eBay
    by TomWanderer
»  RE:TB1000S #1487 on eBay
    by admin
»  RE:Travis Bean video
    by seawolfofsaturn



»  Hawk
»  Six Finger Satellite
»  Plasmatics
»  schoolbusdriver
»  Grateful Dead
»  View All Bands



» Metal Necks
» Electrical Guitars
» Rema Music
» Bastin Guitars
» Rockhaus
» Fretboard Journal
» AmpFreak.com
» LouderThanQuiet.com
» PedalNerd
» EffectsBay
» Plexi-amps
» FotoGraff.com
» CurtisClock.com


TravisBeanGuitars.com
Privacy Policy
Terms & Conditions
© 2001 - 2008


 
Forum :: Beans For Sale

Suspicious Bean listing on eBay


  Return to forum index
Electrical Guitar Company

 Author  Message
admin

Joined:
01 Jun 2001
Posts: 460
PostPosted: 04/16/2008 at 9:36 AM    Post subject: Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

A weird listing on eBay...

Travis Bean... no photos, no information (ie: serial, descriptions, etc), 0 feedback seller.. Spidey Sense is tingling.

http://cgi.ebay.com/travi.....ZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Maybe they're still putting the listing together?
admin



Back to top

View Member Profile


ggates

Joined:
05 May 2006
Posts: 86
PostPosted: 04/16/2008 at 9:47 AM    Post subject: RE:Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

It even comes with strings! What could possibly be suspicious about that?

GG

Back to top

View Member Profile

soarshoulder

Joined:
09 Jul 2007
Posts: 11
PostPosted: 04/16/2008 at 4:57 PM    Post subject: RE:Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

A few years ago, I nearly purchased standard from some kid in Quebec (said it was his dads old guitar) He had no feedback, but did offer pics/SN. (also, he wanted either MO or payment through some escrow service that did seem not offer ANY buyer protection whatsoever)
We spoke on the phone briefly, and via IM and I just had an awkward feeling, so I did not purchase it. The guitar did sell at the end of the auction.
anyways, a short while later, there was another bean listing with a different zero feedback seller from Quebec that used the same exact photos. Anybody else remember this (mid/late 2004)? I think he had posted some listings on this site as well...

Maybe it was legit, and just a strange coincidence coupled with my paranoia regarding French Canadians;)



Back to top

View Member Profile

elruinc

Joined:
07 Dec 2007
Posts: 4
PostPosted: 04/16/2008 at 5:56 PM    Post subject: RE:Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

Yeah, I thought the posting was really weird as well. I actually messaged the guy and told him to add some photos because no feedback with zero photos=no bidders. I've been waiting for so long for another bean to go on sale. I'm just diein' to own one. Now this guy is tempting me with his imaginary bean. . .Damn!

Back to top

View Member Profile

Eric

Joined:
03 Aug 2007
Posts: 48
PostPosted: 04/16/2008 at 10:51 PM    Post subject: RE:Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

the seller put up some pictures

Back to top

View Member Profile

ggates

Joined:
05 May 2006
Posts: 86
PostPosted: 04/17/2008 at 11:51 AM    Post subject: RE:Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

Hey elruinc,

Email me at ggates67@msn.com I might be able to help you find a Bean. Let me know what you're looking for.

Greg

Back to top

View Member Profile


JohnBR

Joined:
20 Dec 2005
Posts: 136
PostPosted: 04/17/2008 at 4:59 PM    Post subject: RE:Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

the strip of wood between the saddle tray and bridge pu looks like it is MIDI ready, or one in it already (kind of cool), however, that is more space than all other beans. maybe they moved the pickup up a bit...no, but then they would have had to add wood in the space. beautiful wood, but odd.....ahh, likely pulled the saddle tray back...wait, no, then the screws would not match, but you could put two or 4 screws in the side of the neck instead...but, then what's holing the saddle tray on? I'm thinking too much. Smoke coming out my ears. might be a cool guitar for the buyer on a budget??

Back to top

View Member Profile

brycycle

Joined:
17 Apr 2008
Posts: 3
PostPosted: 04/18/2008 at 11:36 AM    Post subject: RE:Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

i spoke w/ the seller.

it did have a synth pup installed, now removed leaving that routing exposed. the tailpiece/bridge plate was cut back.

i believe he also mentioned 2 screw holes have been added.

Back to top

View Member Profile

hnewman

Joined:
25 Feb 2002
Posts: 1
PostPosted: 04/19/2008 at 8:14 AM    Post subject: RE:Suspicious Bean listing on eBay

The guitar has about 4 screw holes in the front of the body, and a substantial piece of wood cut out of the body next to the bridge for the former synth pickup. Otherwise, there is a little player's rash but it is in fine shape. The pictures are not clear about it though, it does have wood carved out of it. The guitar is real and exists at a shop in western Quebec, I saw it.

Back to top

View Member Profile


  Return to forum index